Page 1 of 1

Arduino-Based CC-Debugger and HM-10 module

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 11:44 pm
by dmitryp
Hi,

First of all, thanks for putting your code and project information
online, it is much appreciated! Do you think we could start using
gitlab or github to host your code, so that we can contribute ?

I have attempted to compile your CC Debugger on both Visual Studio and
in Android Studio. I have uploaded the sketch to my Mega2560, put the
resistors (220k (since I didn't have a 200k one at hand, and 3.44v
should be fine) resistor and 100k resistor).

When I attempt to hit on info, it comes up with a mysterious "Error".

I did attempt, prior to this attempt, to use the other CCLoader.exe from
RedBearLabs, but without any resistors, so it is possible that I've
fried the CC2541/HM10. The LED on the board is constantly red, and it
is no longer discoverable over bluetooth.

I've attached a photo of my "setup", in case there is anything that I've
done
stupid.

Any ideas ?

Cheers,
Damien


Hi Dmitry,

Looks like the firmware binary https://github.com/bjoerke/HM-10-Firmwa ... s/v1_1.bin works well, and "fixes" the bad firmware upgrade.

I used the CCLoader from RedBearLabs, and used some level convertors (3.3v <-> 5v) rather than using resistors.

Cheers,
Damien

Re: Arduino-Based CC-Debugger and HM-10 module

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 11:48 pm
by dmitryp
Hi Damien,

So you are saying that my solution doesn't flash your HM-10 module?

Thanks,
Dmitry

Re: Arduino-Based CC-Debugger and HM-10 module

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 11:57 pm
by dmitryp
Hi Dmitry,

It shows up with an "Error" in the UI, on Read/Write/Info. Is it worth trying your code with the level converter rather than the resistor method ?
Is there any debug output on the console if I run your UI within Visual Studio ?

Cheers,
Damien


Hi Damien,

To be honest, I am keen to know what is wrong. If you have time and interest, we can try to debug the issue. Yes, level converter is generally preferable but it doesn't mean that resistors won't work unless you made a mistake in wiring. Try level converter for a change. But what you can also do as a first step is not to use the frontend application, instead, run a terminal app like HyperTerminal, select appropriate serial port to talk to Arduino and set the baudrate to 115200. Then type 'AAAA' and you should see chip info (provided that it can talk to your HM-10 module).

Thank you,
Dmitry

Re: Arduino-Based CC-Debugger and HM-10 module

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 6:28 am
by tusker
Hi,

I redid the circuit, and tested with AAAA. The response in UTF-8 was ␀␄��␁�, and in Latin1 was ␀␄‚ÿ␁

Please see attached image
ccdebuger-resistors.png
Resistor Circuit
ccdebuger-resistors.png (217.49 KiB) Viewed 12595 times
for circuit based on the circuit diagram on your website.

Since DD is split into DD_I and DD_O, I'm not sure how to do it with a level converter.

Cheers,

Damien

Re: Arduino-Based CC-Debugger and HM-10 module

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 6:09 am
by tusker
Hi,

I tried with the level converters and it behaves exactly the same. AAAA shows ␀␄��␁�

Cheers,

Damien

Re: Arduino-Based CC-Debugger and HM-10 module

Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:37 am
by dmitryp
Indeed, the CC-Debugger couldn't flash HM-10 modules dues to multiple issues described here: http://magictale.com/2993/adding-hm-10-support-to-arduino-based-cc-debugger/

The fixes have been tested against real HM-10 module.

Now everything should work just fine.

Thank you,
Dmitry